A Christmas To Keep

Image

Underneath the silver moon
On a star filled night
Snowflakes silently swirl
Landing in the soft moonlight

I stare outside my window
In awe of this glorious sight
My Saint continues snoring
While her yard is turning white

Our kitty’s slumber soothers her
Snuggling against one BIG dog paw
They sweetly sleep together
Purring in dreams of sleigh rides and maybe some “Fa-La-La!”

I close my eyes for a moment
Reminiscing of Christmas Past
Snowmen, Stockings, and Santa
Oh, how we grow up so fast

And then there’s Christmas Future
A chance of new beginnings
And forgiveness of the heart
A chance to make things right
A chance for a brand new start

I’ve suddenly slipped back to Christmas Present,
With a kiss upon my cheek
He softly whispers, “I love you”
These are the Christmas memories
I will forever keep!

~Heather Decker
Christmas Card Poem 2012

Leave a Reply

